19 faculty complete university leadership program

2023-24 MSU Faculty Leadership Program class and coordinators

President Mark E. Keenum, along with MSU Vice President for Research and Economic Development Julie Jordan, congratulate the 2023-24 MSU Faculty Leadership Program class and coordinators, which included 19 faculty members from departments across campus. PHOTO: Grace Cockrell | Public Affairs

Building on a rich tradition of developing university leaders, 19 Mississippi State faculty members completed the Faculty Leadership Program this academic year.

Sponsored by MSU’s Office of Research and Economic Development and the Office of the Provost and Executive Vice President, the Faculty Leadership Program helps outstanding faculty members further develop the skills needed to lead the university forward in its mission of learning, service and research.

During the 10-month program, which begins every September, participants attend various presentations and engage in roundtable discussions with top administrators. Session topics include leadership styles, organizational change, building winning research teams, organizational evaluation and assessment, and student access and success. The program concluded this month with a recognition and conversation about leadership with MSU President Mark E. Keenum.

The 2023-24 Faculty Leadership Program class includes:

-- Rachel Allison, associate professor, Department of Sociology;

-- Shanti Bhushan, associate professor, Michael W. Hall School of Mechanical Engineering;

-- Harish Chander, associate professor, Department of Kinesiology;

-- Ben Crider, associate professor, Department of Physics and Astronomy;

-- Joseph Emerson, associate professor, Department of Chemistry;

-- Nick Fitzkee, professor, Department of Chemistry;

-- Larry Hanson, professor and interim head, Department of Comparative and Biomedical Sciences;

-- Michele Herrmann, associate professor, Department of Building Construction Science;

-- Trent Irby, Extension professor, Department of Plant and Soil Sciences;

-- Attila Karsi, professor, Department of Comparative Biomedical Sciences;

-- Santanu Kundu, professor, Dave C. Swalm School of Chemical Engineering;

-- Dominic Lippillo, interim associate dean and professor, Department of Art;

-- Melanie Loehwing, associate dean, College of Arts and Sciences;

-- Andrew Mercer, professor, Department of Geosciences;

-- Margaret Ralston, associate professor; Department of Sociology;

-- Karen Spence, professor and director, School of Architecture;

-- Peter Summerlin, associate professor, Department of Landscape Architecture;

-- Gregg Twietmeyer, associate professor, Department of Kinesiology;

-- Robert West, professor and department head, Department of Classical and Modern Languages.

Applications are currently open for the 2024-25 Faculty Leadership Program class with a submission deadline of May 1. For more information on how to apply, visit https://msstate.infoready4.com/#competitionDetail/1934501.

Mississippi State University is taking care of what matters. Learn more at www.msstate.edu.

James Carskadon | High Performance Computing Collaboratory

Return to Memo

Mississippi State University  •  Mississippi State, MS 39762  •  Main Telephone: (662) 325-2323  •   Contact: The Editor  |  The Webmaster  •   Updated: April 22, 2024Facebook Twitter